Jan 16 - Mar 18, 2018


Exhibit Detail

The Schaefer Portrait Challenge is a statewide juried exhibition that has been held triennially since 2003, encouraging Hawai‘i artists to present the people of their island communities through explorations in portraiture. This prestigious exhibition features the carefully selected entries of artists whose work best captures Hawai‘i’s extraordinary portrait subjects. The jurors for Schaefer Portrait Challenge 2018: Charles Cohan of O‘ahu; Carol Bennett of Kaua‘i; and Jennifer Owen of Maui. 

The Challenge carries two substantial cash prizes:

  • The Jurors' Choice Award for $15,000, sponsored by Jack and Carolyn Schaefer Gray and selected by the jurors, was presented to Kaua'i artist Natasha Young at the opening reception on January 14, 2018. SEE PHOTO
  • The Marian Freeman People’s Choice Award for $5,000, sponsored by Gage Schubert and based on the popular vote of gallery visitors, was awarded to O'ahu artist Toni Rose at a reception on March 9, 2018. SEE PHOTO.  Second place in the voters' choice was Kirk Kurokawa of Maui; third place was a tie between Penny Nichols of Kaua'i and Kuakea O. Yasak of Maui.

The jurors have made their final selections, with 57 artists for the 2018 exhibition:

Rose Adare ·  Ashley Albritton · Gabrielle Anderman · Patrizia Arroyo · Katherine Stone Ayers · Larry Berko · Elmer Bio Jr. · Carlo Carbajal · Mike Carroll · Hung Kwai Chan · Ken Charon · Mae Desmond · Margaret Ezekiel · Deybra Fair · Eddie Flotte · Ingrid Frégeau · Robert Glick · Roberta Griffith · Edd Tokarz Harnas · Will Herrera · William Houston · Alina Kawai · Kirk Kurokawa · Paul M. Lacio · Max Lemaire · Lynn Weiler Liverton · Robert Lober · Susanne Long · Stephen Lucas · Boots Lupenui · Mark Feijão Milligan II · Bon Moore · Gerald Murai · Momoe Nakajima · Pamela Neswald · Thu Nguyen · Penny Nichols · Joseph Okonek · Camille Page · Kaylie Pickup · Lynette Pradiga · Noble Richardson · Toni Rose · Patrick Daniel Thomas Sarsfield · Amanda C. Scott · Jennifer J. Stephens · Tomy Takemura · Devi Town · Burton Uhr · Christine Waara · Linda Whittemore · Lori Winterbottom-Guntzel · Shingo Yamazaki · Kuakea O.Yasak · Natasha Young · Paul F. Yount · William Zwick  
click here to go to "SPC2018" page with list of artists and the titles of their works
Exhibit Hours: Tue-Sun, 10 am - 5 pm FREE! 
Related Events:
Observe and Play Family Day
Saturday, January 27, 2018 Free!
Parents and children are invited to the Gallery to see the exhibit and create a piece of art to take home. 
Techniques in Portraiture
Thursday, February 15, 2018 & Thursday, February 22, 2018
For grades 9-12, two sessions taught by professional artists in the Schaefer Portrait Challenge, to learn approaches to drawing, painting, and critique.
Quick Draw Night
Thursday, March 1, 2018
A studio experience for adults to learn techniques in portraiture by professional artists. Includes art materials, snacks, and no-host beverages. 
Marian Freeman People’s Choice Award Reception
Friday, March 9, 2018


Presenting Sponsors: