Jul 05 - Aug 26, 2023


Exhibit Detail

The inaugural edition of the MACC Biennial – a new, statewide juried exhibition in Schaefer International Gallery – showcased the voices of artists from across Hawai‘i through an open call for contemporary work. Juror Andreas Marks selected 40 works by 38 artists representing a cross-disciplinary spectrum of conceptual depth, technical prowess, and explorative forms.  

Click HERE to view or download the exhibit catalog.

Dr. Andreas Marks (photo left) is the Mary Griggs Burke Curator of Japanese and Korean Art and director of the Clark Center for Japanese Art at the Minneapolis Institute of Art. He has curated exhibitions in a variety of media from pre‐modern to contemporary art and visual culture at 38 museums.

“Contemporary art should be free and without boundaries, but it can respond to the past to lead to new findings. Most importantly, it has to excite with compelling ideas and accomplished technique.”

Three awards will recognize works of outstanding merit:
• Juror’s Choice Award for $5,000
• Award of Excellence in Two-Dimensional Media for $2,500
• Award of Excellence in Three-Dimensional Media for $2,500

Juror's Choice Award
Sally French
atomized acrylic, wax pencil, India ink, rhinestones, faux fur, rag paper, sanded polymer resin on birch panel

Award of Excellence in Two-Dimensional Media
Susan Thomas
shooting targets, plastic, graphite, ink on paper


Award of Excellence in Three-Dimensional Media
Claudia Johnson
strawberry guava, Java plum, paint, varnish, wire

MACC BIENNIAL 2023 Selected Artists:

Enrico Battan, Rick Beck, Carol Bennett, Henry Bianchini, Dennis Chamberlain, Melissa Chimera, Sandra Clark, Charles Cohan, Aspen Dewey, Judah Ebberson, Sally French, Robert Gann, Barclay Hill, Caroline Holmes, Dennis Holzer, Joyce Jeffers, Eduardo Joaquin, Claudia Johnson, Linda Kāne, Sook Kim, Codie M. King, Zenobia Lakdawalla, Mary Ann Leigh, Ethel Mann, Sheri Levin McNerthney, Meleanna Aluli Meyer, Daniel Moe, Bon Moore, Jim Powlan, Madalyn Purcell, Abigail Romanchak, Annamarie Sheehan, Bruna Stude, Erik Sullivan, Susan Thomas, Ricardo Vasquez, Keith Yurdana, Wayne Zebzda

This exhibition is presented by Maui Arts & Cultural Center and supported in part by County of Maui – Office of Economic Development, and Hawai‘i Tourism Authority through the Community Enrichment Program.

Presenting Sponsors: